PM Modi attends Demonstration of Retrofit Electric Bus at Parliament

PM inaugurating BusPrime Minister Shri Narendra Modi attended a function for Demonstration of Retrofit Electric Bus at Parliament House in New Delhi on Monday.

The Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi attended the demonstration of the first prototype of a diesel bus converted into a battery operated electric bus at a function in Parliament today.

Speaking on the occasion he said that pollution has become a matter of grave concern in our everyday lives and finding a solution to this problem is a major challenge today. Referring to the recently concluded COP 21 meet in Paris, the Prime Minister lauded two of its major initiatives aimed at promoting green energy – one on innovation and the other on the Global Solar Alliance of 120 countries.

He said the cost effective, environmentally clean electric buses are a significant step in the direction of combating pollution. The Prime Minister called the retrofitted electric buses a new gift from “Make in India” and called upon the youth to come forward to make cost-effective, long lasting batteries to promote the making of more such electric buses which can be incorporated in our public transport system.

The Prime Minister presented the keys of the first retrofitted bus to Hon’ble Speaker Smt Sumitra Mahajan who was also present on the occasion. The bus is proposed to be used by Members of Parliament.

Speaking on the occasion Minister of Road Transport & Highway Shri Nitin Gadkari said that the cost effective, pollution free and import substituting retrofitted electric buses demonstrate the government’s commitment towards Make in India and its resolve for fighting vehicular pollution. He said ISRO is making Lithium –Ion batteries which will cost only Rs 5 lakh as against the Rs 50 lakh cost of imported batteries. He called upon Parliamentarians to make maximum use of the retrofitted buses and make them popular.

In order to fight the growing pollution that results from harmful emissions from diesel buses, the Ministry of Road Transport & Highways has taken up an initiative of converting existing diesel buses into non polluting electric buses. Electric buses are considered to be the most environment friendly form of public transport in urban areas. Procurement of new electric buses is on the agenda of various State Transport undertakings. In this context the converted buses would be very useful as they would cost about one-fourth of the cost of a new electric bus.

The converted buses are part of a pilot project of Central Institute of Road Transport (CIRT). The project will demonstrate the Government’s commitment to reduce vehicular pollution while opting for strong environment friendly mobility solutions. The prototype has been developed by by KPIT, Pune with consultations from CIRT. The technology has been wholly developed in India. Ten more buses are proposed to be retrofitted for use by State Transport Undertakings by March 2016. Large scale conversions of diesel buses to electric will be taken up after evaluating the success of the pilot project.

Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Urban Development Shri Venkaiah Naidu, Minister of State (I/C) Environment , Forest & Climate Change Shri Prakash Javadekar , Minister of State (RTH & Shipping) Shri Pon Radhakrishnan and several Members of Parliament were also present on the occasion.



000-017   000-080   000-089   000-104   000-105   000-106   070-461   100-101   100-105  , 100-105  , 101   101-400   102-400   1V0-601   1Y0-201   1Z0-051   1Z0-060   1Z0-061   1Z0-144   1z0-434   1Z0-803   1Z0-804   1z0-808   200-101   200-120   200-125  , 200-125  , 200-310   200-355   210-060   210-065   210-260   220-801   220-802   220-901   220-902   2V0-620   2V0-621   2V0-621D   300-070   300-075   300-101   300-115   300-135   3002   300-206   300-208   300-209   300-320   350-001   350-018   350-029   350-030   350-050   350-060   350-080   352-001   400-051   400-101   400-201   500-260   640-692   640-911   640-916   642-732   642-999   700-501   70-177   70-178   70-243   70-246   70-270   70-346   70-347   70-410   70-411   70-412   70-413   70-417   70-461   70-462   70-463   70-480   70-483   70-486   70-487   70-488   70-532   70-533   70-534   70-980   74-678   810-403   9A0-385   9L0-012   9L0-066   ADM-201   AWS-SYSOPS   C_TFIN52_66   c2010-652   c2010-657   CAP   CAS-002   CCA-500   CISM   CISSP   CRISC   EX200   EX300   HP0-S42   ICBB   ICGB   ITILFND   JK0-022   JN0-102   JN0-360   LX0-103   LX0-104   M70-101   MB2-704   MB2-707   MB5-705   MB6-703   N10-006   NS0-157   NSE4   OG0-091   OG0-093   PEGACPBA71V1   PMP   PR000041   SSCP   SY0-401   VCP550  100-105  , 70-486   c2010-657   70-178   OG0-091   70-178   JN0-360   ICBB   1z0-808   300-075   200-125  , 70-346   000-017   JN0-360   350-050   1Z0-061   220-901   700-501   640-911   101-400   220-901   350-030   ITILFND   400-201   220-801   70-488   210-065   HP0-S42   350-080   102-400   70-417   70-270   3002   640-692   1Y0-201   AWS-SYSOPS   2V0-621   000-089   200-101   70-533   70-488   CAP   210-260   300-070   102-400   70-980   70-346   102-400   300-209   SY0-401