PRESS must develop Credibility, says Justice AK Patnaik

TNI Bureau: Though, the constitution of India has not specifically guaranteed Freedom of Press to the citizen of India, the Supreme Court has said that under Article 19 (1) A of the constitution , which guarantees freedom of expression includes the freedom of the press, said, senior judge of the apex court Mr. AK Patnaik in Bhubaneswar on Friday.

Addressing a seminar organised by National Journalist Welfare Board (NJWB) to observe the National Press Day 2012 on Nov 16, Justice Patnaik, who was the chief guest of the event said, “the freedom given to the press should be regulated by the members of the profession and must function under reasonable restriction”. He emphasized the success of media is largely dependent upon its credibility. It is therefore, the responsibility of the media to maintain credibility at all cost.

Mr. Ramahari Mishra, a senior journalist and Director of Naxatra Institute of Media Studies, said, It was an unfortunate the press suffered an unprecedented attack during internal emergency in 1975-76. The relevant protecting acts of the constitution were abrogated and unwanted censorship was clapped. However, the succeeding government restored the freedom and the supreme court subsequently gave the freedom of expression as basic structure of the constitution , which parliament cannot touch to change the basic structure. We would have to constitute a constituent assembly. Unlike India, the American constitution in its first amendment has categorically said that the parliament cannot pass no law abridging freedom of the press.

Minister of the state for Information & Public Relation and Energy, Mr. Arun Sahu, said, the press must give top priority to advancing the welfare of people and people in return will never allow interference in the press freedom.

Mr. Vaishnav Charan Parida, Member of Rajya Sabha, said quoting the Nobel laureate Mr. Amartya Sen that had there been a free press the would never have witnessed a catastrophe like the Bengal famine. The press could have not only prevented the callousness of the British government but would have indicated where the illegal food stuff were stored. The same thing happened in 1866 when the ‘Nanka Durbhikhya’ (devastating famine) visited Odisha.

While the nation and state observed the birth anniversary of Press Council of India as the National Press Day yesterday, some eminent journalists were awarded during the event held at Jayadev Bhavan. Satakadi Hota, the Editor of ‘Samay’, was awarded “Sambadika Ratna”, while Mr Puneet Nanda, Editor of the ‘Political and Business Daily’, Deepak Kumar Rath, Editor of ‘Uday India’, Santosh Pandey and A Sandeep were honoured with ‘Sambadika Gaurav Award’ at the ceremony. ‘Political and Business Daily’ Resident Editor BK Mishra received the award on behalf of Mr Puneet. ‘Ravi Narayan Mohanty Memorial Shield’ was given to Shantisnigdha Mohapatra. Ten senior journalists including Mr. Ramahari Mishra, Mr. Arun Panda, Mr. Dulal Mishra, Mr. Prashant Patnaik, Pundit Prabodh Mishra, Mr. Basant Das, Mr. Ravi Das, Mr. Subas Patnaik, Mr. Pradyush Patnaik, and Mr. Barendra Krushna Dhal were also honoured with ‘Sambadika Pension Award’ to mark the occasion yesterday.

The event was presided over by senior journalist Sanat Mishra, General Secretary of NJWB. Others, who graced the occasion were Minister Surya Narayana Patra, Bhubaneswar Mayor Ananta Narayana Jena, MLA Bijay Mohanty and senior journalist Pradyush Patnaik.



Leave a Reply

000-017   000-080   000-089   000-104   000-105   000-106   070-461   100-101   100-105  , 100-105  , 101   101-400   102-400   1V0-601   1Y0-201   1Z0-051   1Z0-060   1Z0-061   1Z0-144   1z0-434   1Z0-803   1Z0-804   1z0-808   200-101   200-120   200-125  , 200-125  , 200-310   200-355   210-060   210-065   210-260   220-801   220-802   220-901   220-902   2V0-620   2V0-621   2V0-621D   300-070   300-075   300-101   300-115   300-135   3002   300-206   300-208   300-209   300-320   350-001   350-018   350-029   350-030   350-050   350-060   350-080   352-001   400-051   400-101   400-201   500-260   640-692   640-911   640-916   642-732   642-999   700-501   70-177   70-178   70-243   70-246   70-270   70-346   70-347   70-410   70-411   70-412   70-413   70-417   70-461   70-462   70-463   70-480   70-483   70-486   70-487   70-488   70-532   70-533   70-534   70-980   74-678   810-403   9A0-385   9L0-012   9L0-066   ADM-201   AWS-SYSOPS   C_TFIN52_66   c2010-652   c2010-657   CAP   CAS-002   CCA-500   CISM   CISSP   CRISC   EX200   EX300   HP0-S42   ICBB   ICGB   ITILFND   JK0-022   JN0-102   JN0-360   LX0-103   LX0-104   M70-101   MB2-704   MB2-707   MB5-705   MB6-703   N10-006   NS0-157   NSE4   OG0-091   OG0-093   PEGACPBA71V1   PMP   PR000041   SSCP   SY0-401   VCP550  100-105  , 70-486   c2010-657   70-178   OG0-091   70-178   JN0-360   ICBB   1z0-808   300-075   200-125  , 70-346   000-017   JN0-360   350-050   1Z0-061   220-901   700-501   640-911   101-400   220-901   350-030   ITILFND   400-201   220-801   70-488   210-065   HP0-S42   350-080   102-400   70-417   70-270   3002   640-692   1Y0-201   AWS-SYSOPS   2V0-621   000-089   200-101   70-533   70-488   CAP   210-260   300-070   102-400   70-980   70-346   102-400   300-209   SY0-401