Vanvasi Kalyan Ashram stages Dharna in Bhubaneswar for Tribals

Press Release: Vanvasi Kalyan Ashram staged a dharna in Bhubaneswar protesting for the socio-economic upliftment and development of indigenous tribes in the remote tribal areas of Odisha. The activists have been demanding a provision of 26% profit sharing in all mines in the recent MMDR Amendment Bill 2011.

The protesters staged a demonstration in front of Raj Bhavan (Governor House) on Monday. Later, they handed over a memorandum on MMDR Amendment Bill 2011 (an amendment to the Mines and Minerals Development and Regulation (MMDR) Act rules) to the Governor.

President Lachhaman Nayak, president of Vanvasi Kalyan Ashram Odisha, demanded to have provision for 26% profit after Tax (PAT) sharing in all major minerals (including Coal) Sectors to the project affected persons to fulfill their aspiration of NMP 2008.

He dragged the media attention by talking on the key issues and problems that the tribal people of Odisha are facing. He pressed for the missing of Tribals displaced by the mining activities and demand 26% profit share. He said that mining activities in these areas affect Millions of tribals depriving them from ‘Land’ and ‘Forest’, which are the only source of their livelihood. The ineffective Rehabilitation and resettlement policy of the Centre has only settled 25% of the displaced tribals of the country, where as the Mine owners and corporate houses have earned millions of Rupees from these resources, without bothering the miseries of the affected persons of those areas, which give rise to the unrest in the tribal areas. To bring a change in those areas process has been started 3 years back to amend the MMDR Act 1957 after adoption of national mining policy. The proposal of profit sharing in this regards pursued by the Minister of Mines was discussed by the Group of Ministers on the Chairmanship of the then Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee, who suggested sharing of 26% profit of after Tax to the project affected persons (PAP) and the bill was introduced in the parliament. Problem started after Dhindsa Patel was made minister of Mines. He suggested that the 26% profit sharing be made only for Coal mines. Now the bill introduced in the Parliament and with the parliamentary standing committee of mines for consideration. But it is learnt from the media that both planning commission and the minister are trying to reduce the 26% profit sharing even from coal mines. This is complete betrayal to the tribals and displaced persons by the Central Govt.

He was stick to the following demands:

1. Adhere with own proposal in this regards approved by GOM in MMDR Amendment Bill 2010.
2. Industries utilizing minerals from these mines be included in this policy or 26% profit sharing to PAPs.
3. Provision may be made to include reputed NGOs and representatives in the committees made for identification, rehabilitation and resettlement of project affected persons.
4. Provisions be made in the Bill for constitution of the National Mining Tribunal (NMT), its Circuit Benches, a State Mining Tribunal (SMTs) and Special Mining Courts (SMCs) at the District levels.
5. The Bill should be adequately amended to provide that a sitting judge of the Apex Court is appointed as the Chairperson in the NMT,  a sitting judge of the concerning High Court as Chairperson in all the SMTs and at least one SMC is established in every Mineral/tribal dominated district of the country for convenience of the aggrieved persons.

Along with Lachhaman Nayak, Jagdish Prasad Misra (Working President of the organisation), Panu Majhi (Vice President), Laxmikant Dash (General Secretary), Dhaneswar Mohanta (Secretary) were present and handed over a memorandum to the Governor yesterday.



Leave a Reply

000-017   000-080   000-089   000-104   000-105   000-106   070-461   100-101   100-105  , 100-105  , 101   101-400   102-400   1V0-601   1Y0-201   1Z0-051   1Z0-060   1Z0-061   1Z0-144   1z0-434   1Z0-803   1Z0-804   1z0-808   200-101   200-120   200-125  , 200-125  , 200-310   200-355   210-060   210-065   210-260   220-801   220-802   220-901   220-902   2V0-620   2V0-621   2V0-621D   300-070   300-075   300-101   300-115   300-135   3002   300-206   300-208   300-209   300-320   350-001   350-018   350-029   350-030   350-050   350-060   350-080   352-001   400-051   400-101   400-201   500-260   640-692   640-911   640-916   642-732   642-999   700-501   70-177   70-178   70-243   70-246   70-270   70-346   70-347   70-410   70-411   70-412   70-413   70-417   70-461   70-462   70-463   70-480   70-483   70-486   70-487   70-488   70-532   70-533   70-534   70-980   74-678   810-403   9A0-385   9L0-012   9L0-066   ADM-201   AWS-SYSOPS   C_TFIN52_66   c2010-652   c2010-657   CAP   CAS-002   CCA-500   CISM   CISSP   CRISC   EX200   EX300   HP0-S42   ICBB   ICGB   ITILFND   JK0-022   JN0-102   JN0-360   LX0-103   LX0-104   M70-101   MB2-704   MB2-707   MB5-705   MB6-703   N10-006   NS0-157   NSE4   OG0-091   OG0-093   PEGACPBA71V1   PMP   PR000041   SSCP   SY0-401   VCP550  100-105  , 70-486   c2010-657   70-178   OG0-091   70-178   JN0-360   ICBB   1z0-808   300-075   200-125  , 70-346   000-017   JN0-360   350-050   1Z0-061   220-901   700-501   640-911   101-400   220-901   350-030   ITILFND   400-201   220-801   70-488   210-065   HP0-S42   350-080   102-400   70-417   70-270   3002   640-692   1Y0-201   AWS-SYSOPS   2V0-621   000-089   200-101   70-533   70-488   CAP   210-260   300-070   102-400   70-980   70-346   102-400   300-209   SY0-401